Probably Due To Network Congestion

HLT Temperature Control

Posted on: June 30, 2010

Hot Liquor Tank (HLT) temperature control with an STC-1000 Temperature controller from Ebay.

Temp controller in place from the rear:
Image
Case internals so far, thought I’d include an Earthing block (which I didn’t use, though I might earth the Pipework on the HLT sometime):
Image
Temp sensor fitted to side of HLT http://uk.rs-online.com/web/search/searchBrowseAction.html?method=getProduct&R=0461159 :
Image
Controller fitted to case front with approx positions of the Heating & Cooling Sockets:
Image
This box will be on the wall next to the HLT and wired from a fused Spur, When I get a fermentation fridge I’ll just get an extension lead and plug it in, though I may have to figure out a switchable Temp sensor to I can swap between two… though I suppose I could just buy a second Temp controller (*a couple of small 2-pin plugs &  sockets would do this).

Holes cut and sockets in position:
Image
I decided, seeing as I have plenty of case depth, I’d use the full pattress boxes to secure the socket fronts:
Image
The Wiring:
Live Feeds to in series:

  • -Temp Controller
  • -Heating Relay
  • -Cooling Relay

Switched Relay Feeds to:

  • -3 Pin Live! on both sockets

To Neutral Feed in series:

  • -Both 3 Pin Socket Neutrals
  • -Temp controller

Image
Wall Mounted and Wired into a Fused Spur:
Image
The Inside, knot tied in sensor lead so I don’t go pulling it:
Image
Heating LED on, heating up:
Image
No LED indicator showing, Heating OFF, set to 81c with a 1c drop so it stays 80c or above:
Image

🙂 I just need to finish painting the walls, Paint the floor, and complete my Brewery Stand!!

The Plastic box came from www.rselectricalsupplies.co.uk

8 Responses to "HLT Temperature Control"

pdtnc, what relay did you use? you noted you used one but I can’t see it in the pictures

Nope, it was the STC-1000 (its internal relays) only which works fine for the wattage elements I have.

Very helpful – what were the dimensions of your enclosure? I’m trying to work out a sensible size for my build.

I’m pretty sure it was this one Here
Just realised I never linked that properly!

Just bought the bits and pieces I need for this….just need to nip down to the curry house and pick up a food grade barrel. A great “how-to” post. Cheers.

Free stuff is good 😉

[…] beer stocks are pretty high with lots more full crates stashed in there too… the Temperature control on the fermentation fridge has been turned off and the HLT is empty! (Hop Freezer is […]

[…] at 82°c to pre heat mash tun, let cool to 72°c before mashing in, Temp-Controller construction is here: The overview of my three tier home brewery, gravity fed system with Hot water from the House feed […]

Leave a comment

Vital Stats

  • 219,768 hits

Books worth a read

Suggested Sites

Historical Data

Podcast & Feeds

QR Code

qrcode

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,559 other subscribers