Probably Due To Network Congestion

Homebrew review of the year 2013

Posted on: December 31, 2013

Home brew review
This years Homebrew review of the year isn’t going to be as lengthy as other years as I’ve simply not brewed as much and didn’t try that hard when it came to the National Homebrew Competition, some serious time was spent building a car-port style affair at the side of the house, so the list bellow is the best of what I had time to brew…

  • AG #110Ring of Fire IPA
    This one is also still fermenting, but it smells & tastes so good I thought I’d add it to my end of year round up, it has promise whether I dry hop it or not 😉
  • AG #109Mittlefruh Junga Blonde
    This isn’t actually bottled at the time of writing this but tastes from the FV have been displaying some the traits I was wanting so I have high hopes for another easy drinker like AG#108 but with more spicy character.
  • AG #105Summit 73 E366
    This is bloody marvelous, I hope they re-release Experimental 366 in future years and let us know what its going to be called.
  • AG #104NZ Sour Wheat
    My Sour Mashed wheat beer, this is a style I’d like to pursue further, I dropped lucky and got a really nice balance between the Sour and the balancing sweetness and body.
  • AG #103Farmhouse Rye Noir
    My first attempt at a Saison and it turned out damn well too 🙂
  • AG #102Gods of War
    Easy drinking mix of under-used hops, worthy of a re-brew but with more cara/crystal/hotter-mash/flaked-barley.
  • AG #101SCAN
    Mental but good, in hindsight I’d go a bit easier on things to ensure more of a crowd-pleaser.
  • AG #100Altitudinous Cable
    Everything to the MAX, a touch too much Max which has taken time to settle down, VERY hoppy, this is going to age really well over a few years 🙂
  • AG #99BoomStick
    Massively easy drinking simple recipe.
  • AG #98Robust Wheat Porter
    It seems these user-upper brews always turn out well, this is a mega solid porter with hints of smoke.
  • AG #96Bravo+Apollo=Citra?
    An experiment that turned out good.
  • AG #94Hooded Embarrassment
    Maybe not my best beer but it ticks enough boxes and made for enjoyable drinking.
  • AG #93Pacific Rim
    Nice little hop-combo and worthy of a re-brew.

A nice surprise this year was this book through the post from Andy Hamilton featuring a couple of my homebrew recipes, its full of good stuff and obviously some cracking recipes 😉
Pop, I got a book :-) #BrewingBritainToo many hops and so little time!
My Hop-Freezer is bulging, I should make 2014 the year when I don’t buy any hops!
Sad to say the 50L copper I am building and said in last years review I would finish, is still not complete just the hop-filter to sort out and a mate to finish the socket wiring, I obviously need to get my finger out once the wiring is done.
What I want to do in 2014 is get an upt-to-date Liquor test by Murphy & Son and maybe get my digital Thermometer calibrated so when I mash in at 69°c I am really mashing in at 69°c! (for most beers 69°c seems to be the mash temperature that makes us-05 get to the FG that BeerEngine says it will!)

Happy New Year to all

Leave a comment

Vital Stats

  • 219,768 hits

Books worth a read

Suggested Sites

Historical Data

Podcast & Feeds

QR Code

qrcode

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,559 other subscribers