Probably Due To Network Congestion

Brewday Thermometer Testing

Posted on: June 13, 2010

After my last two Imperial Stout Brewdays and peoples comments on efficiency and extraction, I thought I would test my thermometers.
Below are tests with a jug full of Ice & Water for the ZERO point and a pan of boiling water for the BOILING point.

The test subjects:
Image

The Cold Test

All submerged in Ice Water:
Image

My Cheap, from Hong Kong, regular brewday Thermometer in Ice Water reads 0.5c:
Image
The glass spirit thermometer reads -2c in Ice Water which I was quite surprised at:
Image
Another Cheap Hong Kong food thermometer reads 0.9c in Ice Water:
Image
My £15 ebay purchased Thermamite 5 reads 1c though it only reads in 1 degree increments:
Image

The Hot Test

The Thermamite 5 reads a 100c, which feels reassuring:
Image
Image
Cheap Food thermometer reads 99c:
Image
My regular brewday thermometer reads 100c too:
Image
The spirit thermometer reads 100.5c:
Image

A fair range of inaccuracy but at least I know the ones I’ve been using are about the more reliable 🙂

2 Responses to "Brewday Thermometer Testing"

I actually did a similar thing recently after getting some new spirit thermometers. The new thermometers were both the same, 0.5 out at freezing and boiling.

Old thermometer results :

Freezing: -2C (!)
Boiling: 104C (!!)
Also tested at Mash temp: All three the same! Phew 🙂

Its a good idea to know where your reference points are… I’ll be a tad more confident of my Mash temperatures from now on 🙂

Leave a Reply

Vital Stats

  • 213,148 hits

Books worth a read

Suggested Sites

Historical Data

Podcast & Feeds

QR Code

qrcode

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,701 other followers

