Probably Due To Network Congestion

Mango Chutney HLT

Posted on: May 5, 2010

The making of my Hot Liquor Tank (HLT), this is going to be the upper-most stage of my gravity-fed garage brewery, holding up-to 50 Litres with 2 heating elements, sight tube and ball-valve tap. This will eventually be Insulated and temperature controlled.

This first shot shows the first Element, a budget Kettle Element from Curry’s:
HLT construction
The Inside with element and other side of the Ball-Valve Tank connector with soldered-in copper pipe:
HLT construction
Both elements now fitted and doing a leak / heating up test:
HLT construction
The Polycarbonate sight glass tube fixed at the bottom with a Compression fitting and another Tank Connector, clipped on higher up with a 15mm Plastic pipe clip drilled and tapped out to screw onto a length of M10 Stainless studding (including nuts and washers):
HLT construction
I cut two holes in the lid, one for filling and another for sticking a spoon through to give it a stir. I decided I’d heat / Boil with the lid in place as it keeps the barrel’s shape better along with keeping the heat in, I shall eventually insulate the sides with Foil-backed Camping mats or something:
HLT construction
Element splash shrouds (and good for keeping fingers away) made from used Silicone Sealant tubes, I Just need to ‘seal’ them round with something.. maybe Silicone Sealant!:
HLT construction

The parts for this are as follows:
The Mango Chutney Barrels came from http://stores.shop.ebay.co.uk/Smiths-of-the-Forest-of-Dean-Ltd__W0QQ_armrsZ1 I bought 2 as I’m sure I’ll find a use for the other even if its just storing malt.
I got the Polycarbonate tube from – http://www.theonestopplasticsshop.co.uk I have about 1.5m left over which I suppose I could sell but might just hang onto for a while in case I find any other uses.
The little white Pipe clip and Tank connectors was from ebay.
The Stainless nuts, stud and washers came from – http://www.a2stainless.co.uk
The Compression Elbow was from – http://www.tradingdepot.co.uk as it seemed to be the cheapest place.
🙂 I Just had to bend a little bit of copper pipe to join from the Tank connector to the Elbow 🙂
Copper pipe from the Local Plumbers merchants.
Temperature Controller on order from Hong Kong, so I can control 1 element and keep the liquor at a constant 80°C ideal for Mash & Sparge:
I got a couple of long ‘Hot Condition’ Kettle leads and a Temp Sensor from RS:
461-159   NTCH Liquid Probe. SS. Silicon Cable
406-219   Hot condition straight plug w/cordset,2m

2 Responses to "Mango Chutney HLT"

[…] Mango Chutney Hot Liquor Tank (HLT) – This is going to be my temperature Controlled Hot Liquor Tank, running 2 Budget Kettle Elements, I may fit a small pump to stir the liquor with to ensure a good even temperature, also probably fit a Hop stopper so I can brew a full 9 Gallon cask brew-length if needed. […]

[…] in there too… the Temperature control on the fermentation fridge has been turned off and the HLT is empty! (Hop Freezer is […]

Leave a comment

Vital Stats

  • 219,768 hits

Books worth a read

Suggested Sites

Historical Data

Podcast & Feeds

QR Code

qrcode

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,559 other subscribers