Probably Due To Network Congestion

AG#73 – Revolutions Brewery Comp Entry

Posted on: January 30, 2012

Revolutions Brewery Comp EntryRevolutions Brewery in Castleford are holding a Brewing competition, the beer has to be brewed with European hops.
I’ve just brewed my entry, fingers crossed! I know I’ll like it ‘cos I’ve brewed something like it before :)

Here’s the ambiguous recipe ;)

Fermentables:
Lager Malt
Wheat Malt
Caramalt

Hops:
‘Some European Hops’

Final Volume: 23 Litres
Original Gravity: 1.046
Final Gravity: 1.011
Alcohol Content: 4.5% ABV
Total Liquor: 33 Litres
Mash Liquor: 11.3 Litres
Mash Efficiency: 75 %
Bitterness: 41 EBU
Colour: 6 EBC
Yeast: Safale us-05
Mashed at 66-67c for at least an hour.
Mash efficiency was 92.5% apparently!
Boiled for 60 minutes with hop additions along the way, ‘some hops’ were steeped for 20mins ;)
No photos as I did this after an early shift at work, tired head and feeling groggy! Hydrometer says I was a couple of points low but the Refractometer says I was bang on! I’ll clean up tomorrow.

*Bottled 18th Feb ’12 with 55g White Sugar, I’m not sure this is tasting as good as it should which is probably due to me not bottling it about 10 days ago, I’m sure almost 3 weeks in the fermenter can’t be good. Bottling can be such a pain in the ass. Probably won’t be entering this unless it bucks up in the next week, which I doubt.
When this had just hit FG this was tasting lovely, should have got my finger out!!!

*Update 29th Feb ’12, I didn’t enter it… I can do better be it my process or additional bittering  that didn’t go well with the noble hop.

The actual recipe is here:

Fermentables:
Lager Malt – 65%
Wheat Malt – 30%
Caramalt – 5%

Hops:
Magnum – 14.5 % @ 60 mins – 20g (First Wort Hop)
Tettnang – 3.8 % @ 30 mins – 30g
Tettnang – 3.8 % @ 10 mins – 20g
Tettnang – 3.8 % @ 0 mins – 50g

And was based on a previous brew of Kolsch Wit which was very classic Lager-a-like flavour and didn’t last long once it was bottled 🙂

2 Responses to "AG#73 – Revolutions Brewery Comp Entry"

[…] Had a little trial jar taste, Gravity down to 1010-ish, some flavour a bit like what I got in my Revolutions Comp Brew that I didn’t enter, I feel this may be either the Re-packaged yeast I used (most probable) or the fermenting bucket is […]

[…] on @RevolutionsBrew Hopefully my yeast is good and I will make better beer than my un-entered attempt last […]

Leave a Reply

Vital Stats

  • 212,258 hits

Books worth a read

Suggested Sites

Historical Data

Podcast & Feeds

QR Code

qrcode

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,701 other followers

