Probably Due To Network Congestion

45L Igloo Coolbox Mash Tun with Stainless False Bottom

Posted on: May 14, 2011

I just finished building my 45L Igloo Coolbox with Stainless False Bottom its been a fair bit of grinding with an Angle Grinder to make the right shape to fit the moulding of the coolbox, finished off in a few places with some 5/16th beer-line for a snug fit and to fix a corner I took a bit too much off, Its all spaced off the bottom with stainless cap screws. I could have fixed the corner and put Beer-line all round the circumference but had done enough grinding to make-fit.

Some of the tools used:
Image
Drilled out Tank Connector with modified Elbow fitted so it is level with the flat base of the tun thanks to the coolbox moulding where the tap fits:
Image
Stainless Steel Cap Screws used as stand-offs so about 25-30mm up from bottom:
Image
Another Cap Screw in the centre to lift it out with:
Image
Outside with Tank Connector & Ball Valve fitted:
Image
False Bottom Fitted:
Image
I had to give the Perforated stainless a good soak and scrub in Washing Soda to remove all grease that came on it.
I have to say this was easier than cutting and soldering loads of bits of copper pipe… Just needs a test run now! Maybe a BIG beer or a Parti-Gyle brew.

10 Responses to "45L Igloo Coolbox Mash Tun with Stainless False Bottom"

[…] Brewing Equip 45L Igloo Coolbox Mash Tun with Stainless False Bottom […]

Hi pdtnc. Looks great! Any idea what size the holes are and their spacing in the false bottom. I’ve just got my self a cool box and your design looks great.

hiya…
I took a picture for you http://www.flickr.com/photos/pdtnc/5742914879/ 2mm holes and 6mm centres. 🙂

Looks great! I am trying to put together a 50L thermopot MLT atm. I contacted muddydisco but it seems he no longer does them, so will have to try and do it myself :-/

yeah, you just need an angle grinder and a bit of patience. wasn’t Brewzone (or whoever on jims) selling a couple?

Niiiiice! I’d had a similar idea for stand offs for a stainless steel false bottom but wasn’t sure what would work best, yours look great! Have you brewed with this mash tun yet?

Oops yeah, I just read the following post, you mention the new tun 😦 silly moi, heh heh

Sorry I’m late to the party. Where did you get the false bottom from?

I made it with my Angle Grinder and a fair bit of patience 🙂 The Stainless steel can be bought from http://metaloffcuts.co.uk/shop/sheet-metal/perforated-stainless-steel-sheet-metal/stainless-steel-perf-sheet.html in the UK

Leave a Reply

Vital Stats

  • 212,568 hits

Books worth a read

Suggested Sites

Historical Data

Podcast & Feeds

QR Code

qrcode

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,700 other followers

