Probably Due To Network Congestion

AG#12 – Weights & Measures

Posted on: November 7, 2009

Weights & Measures – A bit of a user-upper to get rid of a few bags of bits, now I’ve tried a few grains out its time to concentrate on a more general range.

 

Fermentables:
Lager Malt 1600g
Golden Promise 1400g
Rye Malt 490g
Caramalt 250g
Torrefied Wheat 245g
Vienna Malt 215g
Amber Malt 80g
Chocolate Malt, Pale 40g

Hops:
Fuggles 60 mins 75g
Bramling Cross 15 mins 28g
Saaz Whole 0 mins 17g

Final Volume: 23 Litres
Original Gravity: 1.041
Final Gravity: 1.010
Alcohol Content: 4% ABV
Total Liquor: 32.6 Litres
Mash Liquor: 10.8 Litres
Mash Efficiency: 75 %
Bitterness: 43 EBU
Colour: 17 EBC

The Grist and 5g Gypsum:
Image
I’m trying to guide my time with a Google Calender Timetable:
Image
Mashed in 1 degree lower than I wanted, Grain was 16c, Strike should have been 75c… I lost a degree somewhere, so if anyones seen one its mine:
Image
Calibrated Boiler = No more Jugging my liquor into the Tun (Even though I did this time just to check my scale):
Image
Image
Tucked up for 90mins:
Image
Lots of Lovely Fuggles:
Image
FWH in with 1st batch of Sparged wort:
Image
Mash Paddle and floaters:
Image
Hot Break, the 38L stock pot has just the right amount of head space for it to boil pretty much without watching it:
Image
Bramling Cross Hops going in @ 15mins:
Image
Saaz Hops going in at 0mins for 10min steep:
Image
Just a point or two high, 1042/44:
Image
Dry Sprinkled Nottingham Yeast:
Image

Not a bad brewday, the wort tastes good enough to drink as it is πŸ™‚

**Bottled 17th Nov ’09

3 Responses to "AG#12 – Weights & Measures"

38 Litre stock pot! That’s huge! As well as paddle envy I now have stock pot envy.

What did you use to calibrate the inside? I scratched mine using a drill bit but it’s quite hard to see.

I’ve got a Dremel type thing I used to grind the marks in, I weighed 1Kg of water on the digital scales in a jug so I knew how accurate the jug was, then i filled up about the first 10 litres 1 litre at a time each time marking the position, then I filled up 5 litres at a time for the next marks. I then measured between the 5L marks and split it into 5 equal divisions, it worked out about 1cm to 1 litre. *making sure my vessel is level in both directions before starting* πŸ™‚

[…] The busiest day of the year was March 2nd with 177 views. The most popular post that day was AG#12 – Weights & Measures. […]

Leave a Reply

Vital Stats

  • 212,258 hits

Books worth a read

Suggested Sites

Historical Data

Podcast & Feeds

QR Code

qrcode

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,700 other followers

