Probably Due To Network Congestion

Pickling Chilli’s

Posted on: August 25, 2006

Its burns, It Burns…. make it Stop!!!

Following a simple recipe from picklehead at http://www.chillisgalore.co.uk I have just made myself 2 Jars of pickled Chilli’s.
I used my home grown Cayenne (green and red), Rocoto Orange, Thai Bangkok Upright, and a couple of varieties I bought from The South Devon Chilli Farm Santa Fe Grande, Ring Of Fire, and Pimentos de Padron. I bought the latter ones to try out some cooking idea’s and to try my tastes for future growing next year.
Needless to say I didn’t expect to be nursing my hands under the cold tap now, I guess it must be the vinegar (acid) that lets the Capsaicin soak into and through the upper layers of skin… and WOW!!! Does it hurt! Burns like hell !!!
I have leant my lesson now, its rubber gloves at the ready for next time… pheeew!!!
Here’s some pictures of some of the proccess:

Making sure the Jars are Stirile.
stirilizing.jpg

Blanching the Chilli’s.
blanching.jpg

The Fruit and pain of my Labours…!
thejar.jpg
I actually made 2 jars… πŸ˜‰
You can find the recipe for the pickled chilli’s here.

3 Responses to "Pickling Chilli’s"

Cool (ok, flippin’ hot) idea. πŸ™‚

I have been drying out my own chillis (Hot Cayenne, the first time I’ve grown chillis) in the airing cupboard with the towels… I cooked with them for the first time last night and they are spectacular! I’ve got about another hundred or so on the plants still, in various shades from green through bright pillarbox red, and perhaps a few jars of pickled chilli won’t go amiss. Thanks for the receipe links.

I might try pickling some chilli’s. I usually make Chilli Chutney πŸ™‚

nice chilli in a jar stuff! guess you have to join the forum to get the recipe… well i ended up with a grand total of 4 chillis from my in doorplants and 1 pepper πŸ˜€ go me haha, bigger pots and earlier planting times are needed. Tomatoes did ok tho apart from not going red. Green tomatoe chutney mmmm.

hope u r alright.

Leave a Reply

Vital Stats

  • 212,568 hits

Books worth a read

Suggested Sites

Historical Data

Podcast & Feeds

QR Code

qrcode

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,700 other followers

