Probably Due To Network Congestion

AG#98 – Robust Wheat Porter

Posted on: March 24, 2013

Robust Wheat Porter – The Pancake Day of Homebrews! I’m using up a load of bag-ends, so my base malts (Lager & Wheat) are now totally depleted.
I’m not too fussed if its something odd-ball, it should hopefully be entertaining and I can start from fresh malts for subsequent brews.

Fermentables:
Wheat Malt – 44.9%
Lager Malt – 26.6%
Munich Malt – 5.9%
Jaggery (Cane) – 5.5%
Brown Malt – 3.7%
Chocolate Malt – 3.7%
Rauch Malt (Weyermann) – 3.2%
Amber Malt – 2.6%
Peat Smoked Medium – 1.8%
Munich Type II (Weyermann) – 1.4%
Roasted Barley – 0.7%
Oat Husks – 3% (This works out at 103%, added after calculating recipe)

Hops:
Bobek – 4.5 % @ 60 mins – 408g
Saaz – 4.15 % @ 0 mins – 48g

Final Volume: 23 Litres
Original Gravity: 1.077
Final Gravity: 1.016
Alcohol Content: 8.1% ABV
Mash Efficiency: 70 %
Bitterness: 181 EBU – (This is going to be bogus, the hops are old and like confetti)
Colour: 148 EBC
Mash: 90mins @ 67°c
Yeast: Safale US-05 skimmed from last weeks brew before I dry hopped it
Liquor Treatment: General Purpose copied from AG#55

The Malts, I added a few Oat Husks as a precaution:
Image
408g of Bobek Hops in the copper:
Image
Recirculating the first few jugs from the mash tun until it runs clear:
Image
Jaggery Goor, or Unrefined Cane sugar:
Image
In go the late Saaz hops:
Image
Quite a lot of spent hops left in the copper:
Image

I ended up with 1079 so liquored back 0.54L to 1077, I feel a few things worked in my favor to get the right OG and 21.46Litres:

  1. Predicted Mash efficiency be set low.
  2. The 3.7L bellow the Mash Tun’s false bottom which I usually deduct from the first sparge.
  3. 80c second (technically first) sparge, I normally go for 78°c, and 15min rest before running off.

All cleaned up and yeast pitched, I expect it to kick off quite soon and spew all over the kitchen floor, the fermentation fridge is still full of Brown Ceas which I just dry hopped.

*25th Mar ’13 – The fresh yeast has taken off well, still in the bucket… just!

*31st Mar ’13 – Gravity at 1018 so this has been pretty fast at fermenting, and it tastes rather good with quite a bit of smoke and the Brown/Amber/Choc malts definitely playing their parts, bitterness is coming through but not overly :)

*7th Apr ’13 – Gravity at 1018 still so chilling it down before bottling sometime next week.

*Bottled 10th Apr ’13 – with 76g White Sugar, tastes bloody good too :)

9 Responses to "AG#98 – Robust Wheat Porter"

[...] AG#98 – Robust Wheat Porter AG#96 – Bravo+Apollo=Citra? [...]

Hey, just dropping by to say I really like your stuff. All good posts and interesting recipes, so keep that up! Got anything special planned for the big 100?
I know you can’t read my blog, but it’s all good;)

Thanks :)
I’ve not planned anything for 100 yet, but it should really involve beers with friends around a brewday.
Where are you from?

That sounds like an excellent idea :)

I’m from Sweden, I figured I’d get lost in the thousands of Brew-blogs in english so I went with my native tongue :)

How is the Homebrew scene in Sweden?

Well, I haven’t been a part of it for more than 4-5 months, but homebrewing and craft beer in general is EXPLODING in Sweden right now. New breweries popping up every month and the home brew scene is expanding incredibly fast.
It’s no where near as popular as in The US, but things are happening and I love finally being a part of it :)

its all good, more taste, more variety etc can only be a good thing :)

Oh for sure, more people getting into it = more stuff for all of us. Double-win.

[…] #98 – Robust Wheat Porter It seems these user-upper brews always turn out well, this is a mega solid porter with hints of […]

Leave a Reply

Vital Stats

  • 195,578 hits

Books worth a read

Suggested Sites

Historical Data

Twitter Twatter

Podcast & Feeds

QR Code

qrcode

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,483 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,483 other followers

